Georgia takes driving under the influence of alcohol quite seriously, and even first-time DUI offenders face serious, potentially life-altering repercussions following a conviction. If your Georgia DUI charge winds up leading to a conviction, you may wind up having to pay fines, serve time or install an ignition interlock device on your car, among other possible consequences. While the criminal consequences associated with DUI are ample, there are also financial repercussions associated with a first-time DUI.
According to Insure.com, virtually all drivers who receive drunk driving convictions are going to watch their insurance premiums increase after a drunk driving conviction. However, how much of an increase motorists see tends to vary from state to state.
How much insurance rises in Georgia
How much your insurance premiums rise after a Georgia DUI depends on many factors, including what your driving history looked like before your drunk driving conviction. However, the average Georgia motorist who gets a first-time DUI conviction watches his or her annual insurance costs increase by 78%. So, say you paid about $1,815 for car insurance before your drunk driving arrest. Once you regain driving privileges, you may find that your annual insurance costs come closer to $3,336, which amounts to an annual difference of $1,411.
How to find the most reasonable available rate
Insurance providers use different techniques to figure out what to charge you, so some companies may be able to cover you for less than others. Also, some insurers may be more willing to work with motorists who have DUIs in their driving histories than others, so it often pays to shop around.
You may also find that some insurers are not going to offer you coverage at all once you have a DUI on your driving record.